Golden Time Review

golden time

Synopsis

A highschool student named Tada Banri suffers amnesia due to an accident that happens the day he graduates highschool. His memory doesn’t retrieve even one year after. He enters college after hospitalized and got interested in a girl named Kaga Koko. Without any knowledge that he has a pass relationship with his former crush Linda, he tries to pursue Koko.

Review

The story is quite interesting. An anime about a guy with amnesia, add in some romance and love triangles in it and there you are. Golden Time! I actually enjoyed watching this series more than I thought I would mainly because of the better second half.

Firstly, the first half of the series is very slow. The progress is there but it is so damn slow. The synopsis above actually covers about 5 episodes or so. Unless you literally have no knowledge about this anime, you’ll find the first 4 or 5 episodes the most boring part of the series. But that’s good actually considering it gets better later on. The story starts to get intriguing at the second half of the series. This is when the main love triangle gets more intense. Not only that, other love triangles also start at that period of time. So it’s very interesting to see the love triangles resolve slowly but surely. So if you are patient enough to endure the boring first half, you’ll at least get some reward if not much from the second half.

The characters are interesting in one way or another. The male lead, Tada Banri has two personalities. His new self who lost his memory and his old self. His personalities varies quite widely between the two. Whenever his memory comes back which happens very rarely, he becomes his old self and for some reason his current memory has been forgotten. Basically, his old self has nothing to do with his new self. what his old self knows and experiences, his new self doesn’t and vice versa. Though it is weird and unrealistic, it is still interesting. Do you actually understand what I’m trying to tell you? No? Well just deal with it.

His new self’s love interest is Koko while his old self’s love interest is Linda. Let’s talk about Koko first. Koko’s first love interest is Mitsuo, her childhood friend. She would do anything to grab his attention which is mostly doing negative things. Later, she started to develop feelings towards Banri and eventually build a romantic relationship with him. At first, I hated this girl because she is very annoying and kind of out of place. Fortunately, she gets better. She wants to get rid of her annoying and overly attached side of hers but failed multiple times. She proves her passion to get rid of it by getting less and less annoying over time. However, it is still not enough for me. I wanted to like her but I just couldn’t and considering her rival is Linda, the chance for her to win my heart is very low.

golden time 2

Linda on the other hand is a great character to me. I like her. She is my favourite character in the series. Although she still have feelings for Banri, she tends to hide it from everyone mainly because Banri is in a relationship with Koko. I could truly feel her suffer trying to hide her very own feeling. She has a close past relationship with Banri during their highschool years which I found very sweet. And I sort of know why she hides her feelings from Banri. I think it’s because she wants to wait until Banri retrieves his memories of him loving her. Then she knows for sure that Banri is in love with her. That’s only what I think.

Another interesting character is Nana. She caught my eye immediately after her first appearance. I enjoyed watching her being wild at some point and hard to be approached yet secretly cares for his friends and neighbours. She even has her own anime which I think I’ll watch it someday. Other characters like 2D-kun and Oka have nothing much to talk about. They are likable though.

like I said, overall, I enjoyed this series more than I thought I would. The first half is pretty boring. Maybe the slow pacing is necessary for the character introduction and development but still, I can’t deny that it’s pretty dull. Most of the characters have development and the ending is quite satisfying. So, I’m going to give this anime a lower 4 star out of 5. I think it deserves the 4 star but not as much as many other anime. If you find the first half funny or enjoyable in some way, you’ll probably love this series way more than me. This anime may be considered mature for some people mostly because of the college setting. I mean, college is more mature than highschool right? But I’ll tell you this, if you want a mature romance anime series, go watch Honey and Clover. That is a mature romance anime.

Leave a Reply

